Log in

  • Home
  • Music catalog

Music catalog

Music published by The Guild of Carillonneurs in North America is available for purchase online at the GCNA Music Store. The online catalog allows you to search for music and add items to your shopping cart for online orders. A downloadable PDF version of the catalog is also available (last updated in 2020).

Because of the variability in range between different carillons, all entries in the music catalog are marked with range requirements, as described below.

About range requirements

Considerable effort has been expended to verify and provide complete and detailed information about the range requirements of each item. We cannot, however, guarantee 100% accuracy of this information. Ultimately, examining the music itself is the only way to be sure. If you find errors in this catalog, please let us know at This will help us improve this catalog.

Usually, a range of 4 (octaves) means a piece is playable on a 47-bell carillon (no low C# or Eb). When lower chromatics are essential, those are specified in uppercase. Occasionally, some pieces are written for a 3-octave carillon with 2 extra notes (going up to d). Those are specified in lowercase letters with a plus sign. Half-octave designations normally indicate that the range required extends up to a g (or down to G if that is indicated in uppercase). Note that many pieces written for G-compass carillons offer alternate notes for effective performance on 4-octave carillons. No attempt is made to list these; such pieces are listed as "4." Thus, what is listed is the "minimum range requirement" for a given listing.

A few examples follow:

The slash means that the piece comes with 2 versions. In this example, one version requires 4 octaves and the other requires 3.5 octaves (42 bells; c, d, e, ..., g3).
A 3-octave piece requiring a low Eb (c, d, e-flat, e, ..., c3: 36 bells)
The comma is used in a collection of pieces. In this example, some of the pieces are written for 3 octaves and some are for 4 octaves. In collections of several multi-movement works (such as the Telemann Fantasias), the range requirement is usually figured based on all the movements belonging to a single work (a Fantasia, in this case).
A low C# is essential to this piece, which requires a fully-chromatic carillon. (It should be assumed that Eb is needed as well.)
The piece calls for a fully-chromatic carillon, but in the opinion of the catalog editor, it may readily be adapted to performance on an instrument lacking low C#.
A 4-octave piece which requires a low Bb (but usually not a low B) beyond the 4-octave range.
The piece calls for a carillon with extended bass range (G, A, Bb, B, c, ..., c4)
Piece mostly fits a 3.5-octave carillon, but also calls for an "a" above that range; in the opinion of the editor, the music may be readily adapted to fit a carillon lacking notes above "g."

Contact us:

Copyright © . All rights reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software