Overview of Music for Carillon

From the beginning of the Guild, one of its important functions has been to promote good music for the carillon.  In the earliest years, music was sometimes shared via hand-copied manuscripts; but soon Guild members began using early copying technologies to share their work through free distribution at Congresses.  Eventually the Guild began a music publication service, which has evolved over recent decades to include the wide range of music and music-related material which can be found in these pages.

Music Catalog

The catalog lists sheet music which has been published by the Guild and is currently available for sale.  See the menu at left for information on how to read the catalog, how to order from it, and how to submit music for possible publication.  From those pages, you will be able to access the various sections of the catalog itself.

Other Music

A few pieces of sheet music have been made available by the composer for free download.  You can print them yourself.

There is also a list of other sources for carillon music, as well as a representive list of recordings of carillon music and their sources.


In 1982, the Guild began to commission new music for carillon.  Commissions awarded to date are as follows:
1982 - "Introduction and Sicilienne" by Ronald Barnes
1983 - "Figments" by Gary White
1989 - "Triptych" by John Pozdro
1991 - "Easter Dawning" by George Crumb (pub. C.F. Peters)
1993 - "Variations and Theme" by Lee Hoiby
1995 - "Winter Song" by Roy Hamlin Johnson
1997 - "Winds of Autumn" by John Pozdro
2003 - "Bravo Bells" by Stephen Paulus - published by Paulus Publications, and available through GCNA
2004 - "Pealing Fire" by Libby Larsen - published by the composer, and available through GCNA
2007 - "Music for Carillon", Op. 107, by Lowell Liebermann

Except as noted above, all have been published by the GCNA.

Composition Competitions

Beginning in 1987, the Guild has conducted composition competitions in alternate years.  Prizes awarded to date are as follows:

1988 - First Prize: "Oread Grounds" by Charles Hoag
  Second Prize: "Gregorian Triptych" by John Courter
1990 - no prize awarded.
1992 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize: "Evocation" by John Courter
1994 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize: "Cortège" by Alan Ontko
1996 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize (tied):
  "Prelude con fughetta" by Marcel Siebers
  "Nocturne" by Ennis Fruhauf
1998 - First Prize: "Modal Nocturne" by Geert d'Hollander
  Second Prize: "Passacaglia" by Ennis Fruhauf
2000 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize: "Passacaglia antiqua" by Geert d'Hollander
2002 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize: "Motorhythmia" by Neal Thornock
2004 - First Prize: "Sonata" by Neal Thornock
  Second Prize: "Two Poems for Children" by Geert d'Hollander
2006 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize: "Sonata" by Lee Cobb
2008 - First Prize: "Four Flourishes" by Geert D'hollander
  Second Prize: (not awarded)
2010 - First Prize: (not awarded)
  Second Prize (tied):
  "Légende" by Ennis Fruhauf
  "For the Planet with the Smallest Voice" by Gabriel Lubell

All have been published by the GCNA.  Other pieces were entries at one time, and were eventually published, but are not itemized here.

Rules for the latest competition are located in the Guild section.